Evaluation of DoD Syndrome Mapping and Baseline for ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM Transition


The Department of Defense conducts syndromic surveillance of health encounter visits of Military Health System (MHS) beneficiaries. Providers within the MHS assign up to 10 diagnosis codes to each health encounter visit. The diagnosis codes are grouped into syndrome and sub-syndrome categories. On October 1, 2015, the Health and Human Services-mandated transition from ICD- 9-CM to ICD-10-CM required evaluation of the syndrome mappings to establish a baseline of syndrome rates within the DoD. The DoD data within the BioSense system currently utilizes DoD ESSENCE syndrome mappings. The Master Mapping Reference Table (MMRT) was developed by the CDC to translate diagnostic codes across the ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM encoding systems to prepare for the transition. The DoD ESSENCE and MMRT syndrome definitions are presented in this analysis for comparison. 


The transition from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM requires evaluation of syndrome mappings to obtain a baseline for syndromic surveillance purposes. Two syndrome mappings are evaluated in this report. 


Original Publication Year: 
Event/Publication Date: 
December, 2016

June 11, 2017

Contact Us

NSSP Community of Practice

Email: syndromic@cste.org


This website is supported by Cooperative Agreement # 6NU38OT000297-02-01 Strengthening Public Health Systems and Services through National Partnerships to Improve and Protect the Nation's Health between the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists. Its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of CDC. CDC is not responsible for Section 508 compliance (accessibility) on private websites.

Site created by Fusani Applications